Photography and culture holiday

Atlantic Coast, Essaouira, Morocco

8 days from
per person
€1,131

Customer reviews for this school

Overall Experience

Learning experience

Friendliness of staff

Quality of tuition

Average overall rating for
this holiday location

Read reviews from other holidays at this location

E Michaud B, , - Sep 2019

Photography holiday

F Harper, WHITSTABLE, UK - Jun 2019

Photography holiday

S Stinchcombe, Essaouira - Mar 2019

Photography holiday

Lovely riad hotel. Great location with fantastic settings for photography. Good individual tuition. Surprised to be the only person there for photography holiday.

m fisher, Andover, UK - Apr 2018

Photography and cookery holiday

R JONES, WIRRAL, UK - Apr 2017

Photography holiday

Because I have been taking photographs for over 60 years I was not sure exactly what to expect as well as how much I would actually learn, from my week in Morocco. I need not to have concerned myself as tutor Darren was marvellous (very knowledgeable and a nice chap too!). I learnt a lot about using 'Lightroom' the photo manipulating software (plus other things) and because of Darren's help in 'opening doors' to many local people I was able to come home with lots of super pictures, many of which I would not have obtained without this help and encouragement. Also, his advice about the local places in which to eat each evening meant that we all enjoyed our restaurant foods, and some of us (me!) put on weight. Because he was so patient, enthusiastic and well informed I would recommend a week with him to anyone of any level from novice to the more advanced/accomplished photo enthusiast. The booking and travel all went smoothly too.

K Beauchamp, Stone, United Kingdom - Aug 2015

Photography holiday

I feel a very luck girl to have expereinced the sights and sounds of Essaouira as well as recieving the coachng from Darren to be able to record this with my photography. His local knowledge and technical skills are excellent. There was more information than I could take in - homework for me

K Georges, Brockham, England - Jun 2015

Photography holiday

M Falcon, Bath, UK - Jun 2015

Photography holiday

Essaouira was a great place to visit with lots of photographic opportunities and a fantastic tutor. I would highly recommend it.

B Anscombe, West Derby, United Kingdom - Apr 2015

Photography holiday

As a beginner, nervous of how much I'd get out of one week's photo tuiton. But Darren struck a very good balance between tuition, visits & relaxation. The riad and restaurants he'd arranged for us were all in the medina & good to relax after busy day. Really pleased with how much I learnt, recommend

A Line Christensen, Copenhagen, Denmark - Mar 2015

Photography and cookery holiday

Great location, both for the variety of photo opportunities and hanging out and be on holiday!

M Doyle, Cork, Ireland - Dec 2014

Photography holiday

Darren is a superb photography teacher; I am amazed at what I was able to learn from him during the week.

M Doyle, Cork, Ireland - Dec 2014

Photography holiday

K McCleave, London, England - Aug 2014

Photography holiday

Darren was an excellent tutor. As a beginner, I was unsure about the technical aspects of photography, but Darren took me through the most important things and I felt that I quickly progressed from there. Darren also went beyond the tutor remit and was willing to help me out with anything during my stay. The accommodation was great, as were the staff at the riad. Would recommend that anyone pondering a photography holiday starts here!

K McCleave, London, England - Aug 2014

Photography holiday

Darren was an excellent tutor. As a beginner, I was unsure about the technical aspects of photography, but Darren took me through the most important things and I felt that I quickly progressed from there. Darren also went beyond the tutor remit and was willing to help me out with anything during my stay. The accommodation was great, as were the staff at the riad. Would recommend that anyone pondering a photography holiday starts here!

A Mathers , London, UK - Apr 2014

Photography holiday

A great course, where I feel I learnt an enormous amount, but had a wonderful, relaxing time. Would thoroughly recommend Darren's course to anyone - whether a complete beginner, or someone looking to further improve.

M Mr-Quintin-RAYER, Guernsey, Channel Islands (British Isles) - Apr 2014

Photography holiday

An excellent photography course with real content as well as a holiday. The course included theoretical elements followed by practical applications in great locations. I was new to DSLR and found this course ideal.

C Schwartz, London, United Kingdom - Mar 2014

Photography and cookery holiday

This was a wonderful tour. Educational and enjoyable. Many thanks!

S Hull, APO, USA - Mar 2014

Photography and cookery holiday

The best learning experience in many years! Friendly, informative, exciting and with definite good results. Thank you Darrin

L Swan , London , UK - Feb 2014

Photography and cookery holiday

Excellent combination of work and play! Friendly staff and amazing location. Perfect for a single traveller.

S Colley, Sydney, Australia - Nov 2013

Photography and cookery holiday

I was the only person on the course which is certainly not what I had expected. I could easily have changed my dates for the course if I had been notified. Darren did email me, but I would have liked to have been contacted by the golearnto company themselves. Dinner by myself was not fun.

Reply from Supplier: I'm really sorry you weren't informed that you were the only guest booked on to the holiday and that you feel that our communication and organisation at GoLearnTo.com wasn’t professional, we pride ourselves on service and I’m truly sorry to hear you didn’t have a good experience booking with us. I’m sorry that we did not contact you to inform you that you were the only guest booked on the holiday. We were aware that Darren had been in touch with you to let you know you were the only guest booked on for this week. Since you booked in May, we have rectified this issue with the photographer Darren and the holiday now runs for a minimum of 2 people so that guests are never alone on the holiday.

Y Pilcher, Gibraltar, Gibraltar - Oct 2013

Photography and cookery holiday

An extremely enjoyable experience. The Riad was in a perfect location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Darren was a good tutor and host with a lot of patience for us who were total beginners. Naima made us feel totally at home in her kitchen and we had a lot of fun learning from her.

A Tyley, LONDON, UK - Sep 2013

Photography holiday

Great week - I learned alot, both from the tutor and from my fellow students. But it would have been even better if I'd booked directly and not through GoLearnTo! I was given information that at worst was wrong (eg a 4pm start time) and at best misleading (eg what we'd be doing and where we'd be going).

Reply from Supplier: Thanks for your feedback, I so pleased to hear you had such a great holiday! The 4pm start time is just a guideline for your arrival day as you can check into your room at the Riad from this time and your lessons don't begin until day 2 of the holiday. We've updated our information online now to ensure this is clear for all future guests, sorry for any confusion caused.

M McInnes, Banbury, UK - May 2013

Photography holiday

In the course of making my booking I spoke to several Go Learn staff and all were very helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. The booking process was straightforward . The holiday met all my expectations with regard to tuition. It was fun and informative. Darren was always willing to help and advise

P Wyles, Kingstone, United Kingdom - Feb 2013

Photography holiday

Great location and Darren is a first class tutor as well as being very friendly. Will remember about key lines and Darren's tips about placement of people within the frame. It was also great to be pointed in the direction of some brilliant locations/people. Also has the benefit that his lovely wife Niama can teach cookery for those interrested. We all had a great time and learned a lot.

E Nolan, Dublin, Ireland - Jan 2013

Photography holiday

It would have been good to have some formal photographic theory and tutorials mixed in to the curriculum. I felt I could have learned more in the week if these had been provided. It was good that Darren provided approach strategies when photographing strangers or photographing anonymously

R Zaltzman, London, United Kingdom - Dec 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

T Corry, Bexhill on Sea, United Kingdom - Nov 2012

Photography holiday

A good experience in terms of a friendly and interesting group of fellow photographers and the opportunity to visit Morocco for the first time. I was disappointed however that our tutor provided very little feedback and critique on individual photography technique.

Reply from Supplier: I am glad you enjoyed the overall experience but I was sorry to hear you were dissappointed with the quality of Darren's feedback. Darren wanted me to mention that the photography holiday is about progression, & each day up is set up with tips & pointers, & at the end of the day, guests all look at their photos & comment on their strengths. If people get better then everyone is happy but if guests have bad days, Darren will provide them with feedback for the next day & they will use this feedback constructively in order to produce better quality images. Every day presents new challenges - though Darren assured me that he doesn't like to analyse too deeply as it can get too intense & it is just a holiday after all. He assured me that if you didn't get many technique pointers then it's because he felt that you were already pretty good with your camera though he was very sorry if you felt his tuition was sub-standard because of this, especially as your images were so good.

P Ann Hudson, London, UK - Oct 2012

Photography holiday

I learned so much from this course. Darren was an excellent tutor, helpful and patient. He took us to a variety of locations to practise different types of photography. The wonderful colours in and around Essaouira were just made for photography.

D HAIRE, BEGUR, Spain - Sep 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

An excellent learning experience. Darren is an extremely knowledgable tutor who provided the right stimuli and challenges to ensure personal progress. Cooking with the delightful Naima was a wonderful experience. She is a creative & passionate cook.

A Edwards, Wickford, UK - Sep 2012

Photography holiday

As this was my first solo holiday, I was very nervous, but I had a wonderful time. Everyone was so friendly and I feel much more confident with my camera and my ability to get the shots I want.

J Fellowes, Hemel Hempstead, UK - Jul 2012

Photography holiday

Brilliant tutor and fantastic location. I came away with an increased knowledge and passion for photography and yet felt very relaxed from the holiday.

P Kilmister, Blackheath, United Kingdom - Jul 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

Darren & Naima were exceptional tutors and hosts. The holiday was a perfect balance of photography, cookery, tuition and practical work. The riad was clean and friendly, and the restaurants where evening meals were taken (different every day, all included in price) were v tasty. Highly recommended.

K Rittinger, London, UK - Jul 2012

Photography holiday

This is an excellent course! Darren is a great teacher - very enthusiastic and patient and I enjoyed all the different styles of photography that were covered in the course. I would recommend it to anybody with an interest in photography. Very nice hotel in a great location.

B Meek, Stafford, Uk - Jul 2012

Photography holiday

Excellent course!

A Walden, Stockport, England - Jun 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

This holiday experience was brilliant, I went on the photography course as a total beginner. Darren has a great teaching style, using his superb knowledge of photography to help you to master the camera and take great photos.

J Milward, Islington, UK - Jun 2012

Photography holiday

Specific comments: - 6 days photographing round the medina felt too much; more trips would add to the learning. - the tutor was slightly too 'hands off' at the start; more involvement at the time of photographing would have helped. - need to think about those not cooking & how to fill the time.

Reply from Supplier: The week is advertised as 5 days in and around the Medina (not 6) plus a day trip to a country market and we guarantee a minimum 30 hours contact time. The course is more intensive at the beginning with image reviews at the end of each day. Learning is also checked throughout the day and the tutor is on hand for support. Students are allowed their own space which is appreciated. Jennie had one independent project morning on day 3 instead of on day 7, which is advertised as the normal day of independent learning, during which she found willing subjects to photograph in a portrait style which she successfully did. Her week´s images were excellent and her feedback was positive at the end of the holiday.

T Moller, Cambridge, UK - Apr 2012

Photography holiday

Darren was a fantastic teacher and gave us a trip to remember taking us to places which were “hidden Gems”. I have learnt a lot from him, composition and framing has improved massively and i have regained my passion for Photography. I would recommend this trip in a heart beat.

S Burns, Prenton, England - Aug 2011

Photography holiday

Darren is a great teacher and managed to get me taking the photographs that I had always dreamed of taking but never thought I could! I would recommend the Riad for a holiday, the photography course for anyone wishing to progress with digital photography and Essaouira itself for a releaxing break!

K Rivett, Hertford, United Kingdom - Apr 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

I can't recommend this holiday highly enough. Darren and Naima are extremely generous hosts, going to great lengths to ensure that your stay in Essaouira is the very best that it can be. Darren is a fantastic tutor with seemingly endless patience balanced with constructive yet encouraging feedback

K Rivett, Hertford, United Kingdom - Apr 2012

Photography and cookery holiday

M Walker, Hassocks, UK - Dec 2011

Photography and cookery holiday

Altogether an extremely enjoyable experience. I can say no more than that it exceeded my expectations so far as both the photography and cooking were concerned

g tredgold, Kaiserswerth, Germany - Mar 2012

Photography holiday

Wonderful vacation, excellent locations, fantastic people and inspirational tuition. Darren was an absolute pleasure to work with he was patient, pragmatic and fun. Photography can be made to seem hugely complex, Darren boiled things down to the fundamentals and built up from there, making it easy.

M PETER ISAAC, LONDON, UK - Feb 2012

Photography holiday

I cannot find fault with Darren Lewey, the instructor, at all. Both my wife and I were new to DSLR photography but Darren was both patient and thorough. We not only a gained knowledge of the basics but Darren stimulated in us an enthusiasm to pursue DSLR photography further.

C Shepherd, Dubai, UAE - May 2011

Photography holiday

gave 5 staars to each category and my comment was "I have read a number of books on photography but somehow just did not get it. Darren offered one on one tuition in a number of styles (portrait, lanscape, abstract, etc) that was practical, sensible and focused (pun intended). He was an enthusiastic and hands on tutor. 10 out of 10. "

T Elliott, Kent, UK - Nov 2010

Photography holiday

A hidden gem of a hotel, beautiful & great location and the staff were just wonderful - Said and Brahim especially. Was part of a group on a photography course for 7 days - would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn how to take great photos & really get to see the whole of the Essaouira area beyond what tourists would normally see